Customer center login

JBL 305P MKII

427 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
quality
sound
Great for the price
epasym, 05.01.2021
As an inexperienced user of such monitors, pretty much my only complaint is the glossy finish on the front that collects too much dust.
It sounds great and is very feature rich for how cheap it is.
However, if you don't have a lot of space you should know that they are much bigger than you'd expect if you have never bought monitors before, and I'm assuming a lot of potential buyers have not.

I use my pair for listening to and mixing music primarily. I have them connected to a scarlett 2i2. At first they sounded extremely bassy, but after a quick look through the manual, I realised all I had to do to fix that was flip a switch on the back, so do read the manual if you don't know what you're doing.
They're very easy to set up, but you will need to have the equipment to connect them to your device, so look up what connections you need and get the proper cables, or you might end up with a big bulky paperweight.
For first time buyers, do keep in mind that you need to buy them individually, meaning if you order one from here, you only get one speaker.

Finally, one thing that annoys me slightly from time to time is the low hum they make when on max volume. I always have them on max volume and control it through my interface, but you can probably just use them differently and not have that problem.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Excellent value for money
audiouser, 03.01.2020
Excellent value for money, with a strong sound stage and a good amount of bass - not completely flat so perfect for casual listening - music, movies, etc. They also work well in larger rooms as a portable audio system as they're not too heavy so you can carry them around on your shoulder in the Gator G-STUDIOMON1 bag also available here if you don't want to buy a full PA system.

They do have a noticable hiss which is fine in my use case but you will be able to hear it in a smaller room when nothing is playing. If that bothers you seek a different product. The hiss is constant at all volumes. Also worth noting don't try turning these up to 10 and play films through without normalization, if you hit something that peaks the audio output like an explosion the speakers briefly cut off and the driver restarts. 6-7 is the sweet spot for me, but will depend on your audio source.

Build quality is okay but don't expect anything premium, things aren't glued flush for example. These speakers are much more about the sound for the price than overall build quality.

Works well with the JBL LSR310S subwoofer if you want extended bass response (or added earthquakes) in your setup.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Amazing Studio Monitors
agim lubonja, 24.03.2020
Received today the package from Thomann. Way to enjoy these amazing monitors these sad days of quarantine mostly inside the house. Great package like a rock. Very good quality build as I have checked to watch and listen on YT before I decided to have also these monitors in my room. Connected them to my soundcard through balanced ins and outs. I did optioned for the +2 db in the HF Trim and the sound came in very very good quality and I could not believe to my ears how good is their response to the signal. Also my first thought was to read carefully the instructions and by this, I did not move the Selectable input Sensitivity switch and I left it where it was from the factory, at -10 dbv. The sound came perfect. My soundcard has a +3 dBu max. output level. The JBL switch goes to +4 dBu. For this time I'm running them to -10. The last thing. I have read also the reviews here before I did the purchase and went and became a little hesitant reading about that hizzzz that some people did complain. No sir! They don't hizzz. So glad I did choose JBL. Highly recommend. Thank You!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Absolutely best for its class
_obra_, 11.01.2021
These are my third home studio monitors. After M-Audio and Tannoy, which I was also satisfied with, JBL's are a class higher to my ears.

I am satisfied as a music listener, but especially for studio work and mix.

Be sure to connect them with balanced cables to avoid the annoying hissing sound that exists if you connect them with ordinary stereo cables.

Regarding me...10/10!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Nice entry level monitors!
Jack85, 29.01.2020
Took these monitors as I was looking for moderately priced, decent quality speakers primarily for listening to music on my computer & guitar practice at low volume levels with occasional recording.

I was expecting a good quality sound on all volume levels (especially apartment building acceptable levels), and I am happy to say that the speakers did not disappoint.

You can find here in the reviews and also the forums that there is an audible noise when the speakers are on, and I can confirm that that is indeed the case. Truth be told, this is only audible when there is no music being played and unless you are hypersensitive to this stuff, you will probably barely notice it.

Pros:
+ Good sound quality on all volume levels
+ Good EQ to tweak the sound to your room
+ Auto stand-by (can be switched off)
+ Moderately priced

Cons:
- Audible hiss when speakers are on
- Auto stand-by can kick in even when music is playing (at low levels though)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Exactly what I needed
Shan MS, 19.11.2020
Using them for stereo mixing and, from the first moment, I was amazed by the sound clarity delivered by these beauties. The base is powerful and warm, highs are crystal clear. Input/ output frequencies can be slightly adjusted from the back of the monitors, depending on the music style I want to play. They are prefect for home mixing!
Always use a pair, in stereo.
I am also proud about the design, they look so sassy, pimping up my room.
Maybe a Bluetooth connection would have been nice, but, come on, for a mini studio you don't need it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great monitors!
@strawberymusic, 10.12.2020
I was purchase this monitors about a year ago, and now I can tell something. This is my first monitors, but I have listened Adams, KRK 5". And I think they are all about the same. Jbl sound have deep sub, bright high frequencies and well mid-range.
I don't have brilliant room acoustic treatment, but the monitors sound good.

I highly recommend purchasing monitor stands or at least foam pads. it greatly affects the sound. Also, the bass reflex located behind the monitors does not allow placing monitors close to the wall, this is important to consider when buying monitors.

The glossy panel really collects dust very strongly and scratches a little when wiped with a regular cloth, also protrudes slightly on the edges of the monitors in my case on both monitors.

Despite the fact that at first it seemed to me that the monitors have a good sub frequency, now I am thinking about buying a subwoofer, because I started to miss the bass.

Despite some disadvantages, I can safely recommend monitors for purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
My very first venture into speakers
David_C, 14.05.2020
I know nothing of studios or sound recording. I seen my first XLR cable last week haha! - I watched some videos and these were recommended. They are absolutely incredible....

I got 30 days free of Amazon Music HD and I have been on it non-stop! Re-listening to songs all over again. The best sounding stuff has been movie and game soundtracks, makes my hairs stand on end!

Absolutely blown away! - They are perfect for little newbies like me as well. Have a built in amp thing, self powered. You don't need to worry, just plug it in and you're good.

I am getting a buzzing, but I have a XLR to 3.5 mm jack straight into my computer motherboard, cause I don't know any better haha! But once the music gets going you don't notice it much.

These speakers have opened a whole world to me. I am now looking at USB DACs and flac storage. Seems that music CD quality (44.1kHz 16-bit?) is more than enough. So I have started looking into CDs more.

Blown my mind - I put quality at 5 stars, they are probably not the best, they are amazing though!! BUY THEM!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
framus az-10 , 24.04.2020
This is my first pair of speakers and I bought them after reading just a few reviews and spontaneously bought them. I am not a professional, but listen and play music every day and I was very positively surprised when I got them. They sound very good. Very clear but not sterile, and very open and bright.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Recommend for purchase
JBL well done!, 11.06.2021
I use these speakers in my small and cozy studio, I am completely satisfied with the quality. At this price point, this is a decent product. Nice top, enough bass. Sometimes I even arrange small discos. If you are looking for a good monitoring tool at this price point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
JBL
idan havakuk, 05.03.2020
these speakers are amazing with good quality. JBL allways had the highest quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Best sound for that price
Pablitto, 02.10.2020
Hello everyone!
Use:
I'm not a pro beatmaker. I'm a filmmaker and I need to record voice and I work with sounds very often. Sometimes I do make some music, and very often I listen to music.

Pros:
I can tell you that the sound of this two little babies is very-very good. It is VERY detailed, it is very CLEAR, and amount of BASE is unbelievable, there are really much BASS!

Cons:
From the other point I can say that they have a little idle noise, putting volume to 50% solved that problem, but I can still hear them if I put my ear close to them.
I use them in rather small (10sq meters) room. But the amount of volume and sound is absolutely enough (sometimes I even want to reduce bass a little).

I used before:
Last monitors I used were second-hand BEHRINGER TRUTH B2030A, but they are dull, maybe cause of usage, I don't know, but the difference was big.

Conclusion:
If you are pro you don't need them. But if you want a crystal sound for a very low budget (believe me 125 euros for one speaker is very low budget) take them and your ears WILL BE satisfied!
Thanks!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
great monitors overall
omgedo, 22.01.2021
Have been using these for about 9 months now, so far I don't have any significant complaints about them. The sound signature is just what I like, build quality is mostly great except for a minor cosmetic defect on one of the monitors (some of the protective film around the cabinet is glued on incorrectly, doesn't look neat - got it like this out of the box, but nothing critical).
Even though I used balanced XLR-TS cables for connection (using Focusrite 4i4) I still hear hiss when they're not active, but that issue is minor.
Overall I think these sound great and will last me a while, highly recommended product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Firts Time to Use the 305P's
frankylitoy, 12.05.2021
I was blown by how crystal clear is the speaker.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Totally worth it!
Colm McDonagh, 09.05.2020
I have purchased these monitors back in early March and was amazed as soon as I opened the box. Crisp, clear, and reliable from day one.

Pros:
Sleek and stylish design suitable for anywhere.

Wide compatibility for any interface with XLR and TRS inputs.

Independent LF and HF control to tweak the monitors to the acoustics of your room.

Durable Build wich will last for years to come.

Cons:
I can't think of any!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
I think they are perfect.
mile$, 15.02.2021
Best sounding pair for a bedroom, I've been using 2 of them everyday for 2 months, I can't stop listening to music, cleanest sound I've heard in a long time..

I connect them to a behringer interface and I don't hear any hiss until I go to 70% and up the volume, which to me is normal since I don't go above 60%..

I recommend them for people who want to get starter equipment, I'm no expert but the difference on how you hear all frequencies balanced and clean, is way above for the bucks u pay.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
decent pair of speakers
EQNX, 29.12.2020
I purchased this JBL's for home listening in general and im happy with my choice if you want good sound in small system this one is good to go!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Awesome speakers
Hermes777, 09.04.2021
These do NOT come as a pair. Make sure you add 2 in your basket and don't make the mistake that i made!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great quality for the money (after 6 months use)
Basarab, 02.07.2020
I'm using those at my home studio as a production tool. In my spare time they are also extensively used for music listening, games and movies.

Before buying those I had spent a month of research, comparing different products of various price ranges. In the end I decided not to spend much as I am not a professional musician/producer. Long story short, I ordered those with some Cordial XLR-Jack cables. It took thomann about 20 days to deliver as I live in a distant region of Moldova and it was during the New Year holidays. Considering the parcel size I was expecting that, so it wasn't a problem. The monitors arrived in perfect condition, everything works fine till this day.

Pros:
- Great price
- Nice design. Most don't like the glossy finish but I really enjoy it as it fits in my interior.
- Simple to use. Never get hot. Stand-by feature is great.
- GOOD SOUND

Cons:
- Not too loud (but it's a Pro if you live in a flat)

IMPORTANT: If you have a Focusrite Scarlett interface or something similar, don't forget to adjust the input sensitivity to +4dB if you don't want to blow them.

If you are a professional buy those as a reference option or a backup. If you are just starting doing music or have been doing it for years as a hobby - buy those, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Best option for an audiophile!
Audio-lover, 03.01.2019
These speakers are simply great. Even though they're marketed as studio monitors, they are really so much more. It's a pleasure to listen to any type of music through these speakers and they have a nice bass extension for the size.
They also have a great feature for energy saving. These speakers go into standby mode after 20 minutes and only consume 1W instead of the usual 10-11W, so you can simply keep them ON. They have some self noise, but it's not a huge problem, although it is audible in silent room so keep that in mind if those things bother you. Otherwise, I have nothing negative to say.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
thanos23, 20.04.2020
compared to other studio monitors of its budget and type i think it's the best
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Excellent
AlexXela, 06.06.2019
Very satisfied with these,

My room is pretty small - 3x5 meters - and i was choosing between 305 and 306 from JBL, glad that i went with the 305 because even they are loud enough and have plenty of bass! (I even switched the bass down to -2 db for "better" sound)

Another concern was the "hissing" problem that i have read so much about - it is hardly noticeable, you really need to stick your ear inside the speaker to be able to hear it (maybe other people have other issues like grounding problems or bad cables?), in any case my PC fan is louder than that -- so everyone reading this who are "not sure", you most probably won't ever be bothered or annoyed with the hiss

(minus 1 star in 'quality' for that though, but overall i am okay with that, plus i have been warned)

Another cool feature is that they enter the energy saving mode after 10-20 minutes of silence
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Nice speakers
din , 04.08.2019
Pleasant to listen to only when set up correctly. Can pick up noise from various sources and hiss in stand by. Noise can remain there when you listen on low volume which is very annoying. Build quality is ok as well as its looks. Overall sound quality is very impressive for the price tag.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Simply one of the best
almeshkhas, 27.07.2020
Using this in a small room/bedroom is great, otherwise pick up the 8 inches since it can be slightly low if you're jamming with it.

Great quality, great sound at an amazing value
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Perfect pod beginners and more advanced
charllles, 01.04.2020
Perfect monitors with perfect sound. Product adequate for the price.
I recommend! :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

JBL 305P MKII

kr1,038
Plus kr200 shipping

Since we ship from Germany, additional costs through taxes and customs may be incurred

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 6.08.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Monitor Speakers
Monitor Speakers
In this guide we’ll outline the basic principles of studio monitors, and take a closer look at their most common features.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Kali Audio IN-8 2nd Wave

Kali Audio IN-8 2nd Wave; Active near field monitor; 3 way system with coaxial midrange/tweeter; 8" woofer; 4" midrange; 1" soft dome tweeter; power: 140 Watt (60/40/40 Watt Tri-Amped); frequency range: 37 Hz - 25 kHz (-10 dB), 45 Hz…

Recently Viewed
Novation Circuit Rhythm

Novation Circuit Rhythm; sampler / sequencer; 8 sample tracks with 32 step patterns each, cascadable for up to 256 steps per track; functions: slice, reverse, loop, chromatic play, probability and pattern-mutate; integrated effects such as lofi tape, shutter, reverb, delay…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Arturia Keystep 37 Black Edition

Arturia KeyStep 37 Black Edition; 37-key (slimkey) USB controller keyboard; velocity-sensitive mini-keys with aftertouch; 64-step sequencer; chord and scale functionality; arpeggiator; LED display; 4 freely assignable knobs; transport keys; touch stripes for pitch and modulation; RGB LED bar; connections: 3x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass MN PJ PACK BK

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass MN PJ PACK Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: c; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Epiphone Slash Les Paul Anaconda Burst

Epiphone Slash Les Paul Anaconda Burst; Slash Signature electric guitar; body: mahogany; top: maple with AAA maple veneer; neck: mahogany; neck shape: Slash custom c-shape; fretboard: laurel; pearloid parallelogram fretboard inlays; nut material: GraphTech; nut width: 43mm (1,687”); scale: 628mm…

Recently Viewed
Neural DSP Quad Cortex Gigcase

Neural DSP Quad Cortex Gigcase; Softlight Case for Neural DSP Quad Cortex Pedal; precision molded, high-impact and designed to keep your Quad Cortex safe from damage and the elements; the top clamshell includes a secure, elastic neoprene panel where you…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton CLA-15MCE SolidWood

Harley Benton CLA-15MCE SolidWood; Auditorium Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar, Custom Line Solid Wood Series; Back & Sides: Solid Mahogany; Top: Solid Mahogany; Neck Shape: Oval C; Neck: Mahogany; Fingerboard: Pau Ferro; Scalloped X Bracing; Inlays: SnowFlake Inlays; 20 Frets; Nut: Bone;…

Recently Viewed
RCF ART 935-A

RCF ART 935-A - active fullrange speaker, drivers: 15" woofer, 1,4" (3") Neo HF driver, frequency response: 45 Hz - 20 kHz, max. SPL: 133 dB, dispersion (HxV): 100° x 60°, power: 2100 W peak, inputs: 1x XLR/jack combo, outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Gravity LTST 01

Laptop stand with adjustable holding pins Steel tray, Powder-coated tubes made of aluminium, Die-cast aluminium base, Dimensions of the tray (W x H): 480 x 330 mm, Tube diameter: 35 mm, Height adjustment by adjusting screw with holding pin…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black

Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black In-Ear headset headphone - 7 mm hight end drivers, bluetooth 5.2, up to 9 h running time, up to 27 h with charging case, SBC, AAC, aptX Codec compatible, 110 dB SPL (1 kHz /…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. Strat HSS PACK CFM

Fender Squier Affinity Stratocaster HSS Pack Charcoal Frost Metallic; Stratocaster Electric Guitar Set; Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Fingerboard: Laurel; Neck Mount: Bolt-On; Neck Shape: C; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 21 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 42…

Recently Viewed
Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG

Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG; In-Ear True Wireless headphones; true 24-bit Audio-connection; 2-way-driver design; high performance DSP; Bluetooth 5.0 with AptX Adaptive technology; adaptive, active Noise Cancelling (ANC); charge case with audio-transmission; wirelesse and USB-C charge; supports quick charge;…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.